Texas is known for its steakhouses, saloons, cattle ranches, cowboys, and
of course, its guns. It’s no secret that the Lone Star State has
a tough reputation – always has and always will. However, much has
changed in regards to the way the state handles physical altercations
between husbands and wives, friends, co-workers, and even bar patrons.
In the past, two men would get into a bar fight and they’d both be
thrown out on to the street. But these days, an altercation between two
Texans, including married couples, can result in a one-way trip to jail
and criminal charges for assault or aggravated assault.
So, the next time you have a disagreement with somebody, you want to think
twice before you say or do anything that can lead to assault charges.
Read on as we explain why this is.
Defining Assault Under Texas Law
Section 22.01 of the Texas Penal Code, assault, you commit the offense of assault if you:
- Intentionally cause bodily injury to another person (including your spouse),
- Recklessly cause bodily injury to another person (including your spouse),
- Threaten another person with bodily injury (including your spouse), or
- Intentionally contact another person in a manner that would be taken as
Assault under Sec. 22.01 is a
Class A misdemeanor in most situations; however, it is a
third-degree felony when it’s committed against a member of your family, or against
a public servant, such as a police officer or firemen while they are discharging
their public duties.
Title 3, Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code, a Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to
one year in jail, or a fine up to $4,000, or by a fine and confinement.
A third-degree felony is punishable by 2 to 10 years in prison, or a fine
up to $10,000, or by a fine and imprisonment.
Are you facing assault charges? If so,
contact our firm at once to set up a free consultation with a Denton
criminal defense attorney!