Denton DWI Attorney
Over 15 Years of Legal Experience
Each year, thousands are arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI). Because of the high number of DWI offenses occurring in Texas, law enforcement is serious about punishing those who are convicted. It is important to take immediate action if you are facing charges for drunk driving.
Led by Denton DWI attorney Derek Adame, our firm has represented countless individuals facing similar charges. Not only does Attorney Adame have over 15 years of experience, he has also served as a prosecutor which enables him to successfully counter the tactics used against you. You can count on our firm to aggressively defend your rights.
What are the penalties for DWI in Texas?
If you are found driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above .08 percent, you can be arrested for DWI. Minors can be arrested for any amount of alcohol in their system. Based on the specifics of your case and any past criminal activity, you could face a wide range of penalties.
First-time offenders can expect the following punishments:
- Between three and 180 days in jail
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- License suspension for a minimum of 90 days
- Mandatory alcohol abuse counseling
Penalties increase for subsequent offenses and can also become more serious for an extremely high BAC or if a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the arrest. Texas does not have a lookback period, which means that even if your first DWI conviction occurred 20 years ago, it is still considered as a prior offense.
Obtain Aggressive Protection of Your Rights
We understand the severity of DWI charges and don't take any chances when it comes to the futures of our clients. By retaining Attorney Adame, you are taking the first and most effective step toward fighting your charges. Our firm is known for utilizing highly effective strategies and responding quickly to each new case development.
Additional Information Regarding DWI Charges: